Offboard brain

A thought, while wandering through Suffolk at the behest of my new satnav thingy. I reckon I’ve got a pretty strong sense of direction, and generally pay attention both to where I am and where I’m going. But since acquiring the satnav, I observe that I’m paying absolutely no attention to my surroundings. There goes another faculty outsourced to technology. I used to take a perverse pride in being able to remember phone numbers. But now I have no need to do so, and I’m sure that the ability will atrophy quickly.

Eventually all the hard stuff will be handled by the machines around us, and we’ll just sit blankly staring at whatever Tivo thinks we’re likely to be enjoying.

One Response to “Offboard brain”

  1. Unlce Tio Says:

    cheers!

Leave a Reply

